top of page

Week 1: Introduction

Hello everyone, My name is Alexandra Gutierrez and I am a first-year Graduate student at SAIC. I have a BFA in Graphic Design: Illustration and an MA in Sculpture from Fresno State University. I create figurative sculptures and have recently explored the notions of posthumanism in my works.


My artwork addresses posthumanist philosophies, humanity’s long-standing interest in artificial life, and the female form. My art expresses my interest in the posthuman and its relevance today. I reference pop culture films that influence me both conceptually and visually in the making of my art. I take inspiration from Greek mythology since it prefigures posthumanist thought. I explore the posthuman through a feminist lens, investigating posthumanist notions of the female form.


Posthumanism is an array of ideas that challenges notions of human subjectivity and embodiment. It also explores possible modes of being after the human transitions to the posthuman by technological advances or biological evolution. Influenced by films such as Blade Runner (1982) and Ex Machina (2015), I portray posthuman entities, e.g., gynoids, cyborgs, and other forms of artificial life in my art. I borrow imagery from science fiction and classical art styles (i.e., Greek statues) to create artworks that reference humanity’s transition from a humanist period to a posthumanist one.


Many of my pieces display signs of fragmentation or deterioration, referencing the state of ancient Greek ruins and statues. The idea that modern or even future technology will eventually crumble like those of past civilizations is an interesting dualism that I explore. I use various mediums and techniques to create my pieces: clay, plaster, cement, mold-making, and casting. Through my experimentation with a diversity of media, I further explore the idea of transformation from one form into another. My pieces visually convey the complexities of the human mind, the human potential, and the human capacity to further oneself.


Decommissioned Gynoid .07, 2019

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page