top of page

Week 3: 1-on-1 Conversations

This week I interviewed Christina Ridolfi asking her about topics like her motives and art goals. She in return, interviewed me. Both interviews are shown.






Interview of Christina Ridolfi by Alexandra Gutierrez


Who are you and what do you do?


I am an independent exhibiting artist and an educator. I engage in a visual language that invites people to explore upshifting to a paradigm of visibility, inclusion, and equanimity.


Why art?


If my work can elevate other people in the ways that other works of art have influenced me, then it has to be art.


How do you approach making your work?


As if my work was love made visible. If the work creates an elevated response directly and indirectly in one person or a group of people, that is meaningful for me.


What themes do you pursue?


Nature, feminine divine, metatypes (evolved archetypes), transformation, humor.


How has the Pandemic impacted your art?


New methods and materials were explored due to the altered reality of the pandemic such as scanning groups of objects to print assemblages and working directly with a professional foundry to cast in bronze.


What art do you most identify with?


Surrealism.


What’s your favorite artwork?


Little Dancer Aged Fourteen, everything by Royal de Luxe and the Lalannes.


What is your dream project?


Working on a collaborative project with Johnson Atelier!


Professionally, what’s your goal?


To use the MFA to pursue work with the federal government and to maintain a self-sustaining art practice and/or be represented by a gallery on an international level.


 

Interview of Alexandra Gutierrez by Christina Ridolfi


Who are you and what do you do?


I am currently a first-year Graduate student at SAIC. I am a sculptor who mostly creates figurative pieces.


Why art?


I have been fascinated with art for as long as I can remember. I was always doodling in my classes from K-12. Since high school, I knew that I wanted to pursue art, so I went for my art degrees in college.


How do you approach making your work?


My approach is to make my art interesting, not just for me, but for the viewer. I have spent many years refining my skills, so I tend to get a little obsessive when creating. To help hasten the completion of the artwork, I lean towards mixed media and allowing “happy accidents” to give my sculptures some unexpected interest.


What themes do you pursue?


I have recently explored posthumanism in my works and combining its philosophy with nuances of ancient Greek statuary and mythology. I explore the notion that humanity has dreamed of becoming something more than human since ancient times.


How has the Pandemic impacted your art?


Since the pandemic, I have continued to make art in my home studio. Due to my studio’s small size, I have gravitated towards digital art, such as ZBrush, a 3D modeling software.


What art do you most identify with?


Classical and contemporary art.


What’s your favorite artwork?


Kiki Smith’s 1994 Lilith sculpture. Kiki Smith's feminist views instigate conversation about the world’s view of women and her “beastly” women are visually stunning.


What is your dream project?


I would like to create a public sculpture one day, possibly a cast bronze. The idea that a sculpture made by me has a permanent residence in a town, city, or park excites me.


Professionally, what’s your goal?


My goal is to become an art professor. However, I would also like to have my work shown and sold through galleries as well.





10 views0 comments

Bình luận


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page