top of page

Week 2: My Artistic Practice and Studio

Art is something that makes me feel accomplished. I feel accomplished when I can see my progress or the finished artwork. I have severe ADHD, although I don’t display any signs of hyperactivity, so my diagnosis wasn’t made until I was in my early 20’s. I have problems hyper-focusing and procrastinating when it comes to art. I procrastinate because I know that I will hyper-focus and overwork myself, but while I’m creating, I get satisfaction from the action of creating. I tend to produce better when I’m under the gun. A looming deadline usually puts me in overdrive since I will give myself a considerably short amount of time to complete something. Shorter time equals more creativity; although I do make successful work when not pressured, it just takes longer. If I have too much free time, I’ll drag out a two-week project and turn it into a three-month project.


I struggle during the creative process because I usually have too many ideas. However, I sift through my ideas by making boards on Pinterest. I will come up with an initial concept, find visual references, and pin them to that specific board. I always pin way more than I need, but I go through them again and either make a smaller board or delete the references from the existing board. Next, I go into Photoshop and photo-bash my references: digitally combining multiple photos by collaging them and manipulating them. I then sketch and paint my photo-bashed piece making it into concept art. I used to make a lot of digital illustrations, so I brought over the methods I would use to illustrate into my sculpture process. Foremost, when creating a figurative sculpture, I will always use a model that has a 360-degree turnaround photo. For example, Anatomy 360 is a website where you can purchase 3d live scanned figures and Posespace.com is a website that gives you 360-degree high-resolution photos.

Photo-bashed image of 3D model and 2D photos
3D room juxtaposed with 2D figure

I will choose a model, whether it be 3d or a 360-degree photo, and sculpt out my proportions accordingly. After I’ve sculpted out my proportions and whatever details I decide to keep from the original reference, I then continue to sculpt by referring to my concept art. Just to clarify, when I create my concept art from a model that has multiple views, I pick the front, back, sides, and front and create a character or design from those four views. I also always use anatomical references when sculpting because there is only so much you can see from the surface. Muscle, fat, and bone underneath the skin are what give the figure form, so knowing the internal information of the figure helps when creating a 3d rendition. Additionally, I do own physical anatomical female and male models. I use them all the time when sculpting and drawing. Having a real-life reference makes a difference. Overall, references are a must in the studio!

Here is an example of a digital sculpt using photo reference

My studio is a converted bedroom where I have multiple areas of storage and work surfaces. I have a main table where I create traditional sculptures; this table is on wheels, so I can move it around the room whenever I need to. My computer desk is another worktable; one side is where I work at the computer, the other doubles as another work surface for my traditional sculpting or drawing when I want to. I have a portable drafting table where I will place on my computer desk whenever I want to create traditional drawings or illustration. Occasionally, I will want to paint. When I do paint, I bring in my easel. I have two office chairs since I share this space with my husband. My husband has a hobby of painting miniatures and model cars, so when I’m working on the computer, he’ll use the table and we spend some quality time together working on our projects. I have a handy dandy back pillow that has saved my life! I have back problems, most likely from all the art-making and being hunched over a table for half my life, so I use this pillow whenever I’m at the computer. When I’m sculpting and must stand for long periods, I use an anti-fatigue mat.

You can see my multiple lights and work tables in this angle
I have a large collection of art books
The yellow male figure is a professional model made by Andrew Cawrse

I am currently working on a digital sculpture. Although I am primarily a traditional sculptor, I have been wanting to dive into the digital sculpting scene and so far, I am enjoying it! Since the pandemic, trying to hand-sculpt, mold and cast pieces are not very practical for me right now, so digital sculpture has become very appealing. Since I’m a beginner to the ZBrush program, it has been hard to learn. ZBrush is known for its severe learning curve. However, I have gotten more used to the program in the few weeks I have been using it and I am seeing results. I am currently sculpting a standing female figure and I later plan to stylize it by exaggerating the proportions or incorporate some pop culture nuances like anime or comic books. Not quite sure yet but I have been pinning to my board on Pinterest like crazy!


Links to figure reference sites:









17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page